Skip to content

Rode DeadKitten – More Uses!

June 13, 2011

I kept complaining that I didn’t have a proper wind protection for my Tascam DR-100. Recently I came across Ric Viers’ tip for the H4n, about how he uses Røde’s DeadKitten on it instead of the stock foamie. Røde only advertise their DeadKitten for use with their Stereo VideoMic or their NT4 microphones. As I was in a rush to get better wind protection for my DR-100 and my NT1-A one day, I decided to get one of the little balls of fur. Although it’s a bit of a pain to fit it on the Tascam, it works!

Picture of a DeadKitten fitted on an NT1-A

DeadKitten fitted on an NT1-A

Picture of a DeadKitten fitted on a DR-100

DeadKitten fitted on a DR-100

 

 

 

 

 

 

As far as wind protection goes, I’m afraid I don’t have anything to compare it to, so I’ll merely state that it is definitely an improvement… and it gives your mics a funny looks!

I wanted to get myself a RedHead windscreen that come in crazy colours and would actually be made to fit my Tascam. Maybe one day I’ll get a RedHead zeppelin fur, a red or a green one 🙂

Leave a Comment

Leave a comment